Christmas through the eyes of 90-ish children

Posted on December 24, 2010

1


Hello to all of you, my wonderful readers, whom I appreciate more than you know. It’s Christmas Eve, and I hope that you’re all enjoying a blessed holiday season with your loved ones. This week, I’ve been hanging out in beautiful Los Alamos, New Mexico with my wife’s family, where the weather is not too frightful (mostly low to mid 30s), but the fire is still delightful.

In lieu of sending all of you a Christmas card, I thought I’d share a song with you. It’s a song that I wrote with the 90+ kids of the Colorado Children’s Chorale Prep Choir this past year, and that we premiered on the Boettcher Concert Hall stage earlier this month at our annual Christmas concerts. Back in October, I asked each kid to give me a phrase of no more than three words that summed up their favorite thing(s) about the December holiday season. After collecting their thoughts and creating a list (and checking it twice) I tried my best to put to music what they had shared with me from their little hearts. I wish I had a recording to share with you (maybe next year?), but for now I hope you’ll enjoy the words in poem form. I ultimately put the song together, got their thoughts to rhyme and wrote the music, but everything that the song talks about is 100% straight from them. And even though most of them are only seven or eight years old, I think you’ll agree that they pretty much nailed the meaning of Christmas. 

 Without further adieu, I give you “Christmastime.”

Christmastime

by the 2010-2011 CCC Prep Choir

Christmas cookies and Christmas feasts, turkey dinners and more

Getting warm by the fireside, singing Christmas songs we adore

From decorating the Christmas tree

To lots of Christmas presents for you and me

Yes, Christmastime is my favorite time of year

Friends playing in the snow, Santa’s ho-ho-ho always brings me so much joy

So many things to do, hoping dreams come true for every little girl and boy.

Christmastime means the weather’s cold, but I don’t really mind.

‘Cause I love having snowball fights even though it’s not very kind.

There’s so much time to enjoy the Yule

Because there’s no more homework and no more school.

Yes, Christmastime is my favorite time of year.

Christmas lights that glow, Christmas songs and shows, everybody knows these bring so much joy

Gifts from you-know-who, from me to you, it’s special to each girl and boy.

Christmastime with my relatives brings a smile to my face.

Everyone that I love so much all together all in one place.

There’s nowhere else that I’d rather be

Than sharing Christmastime with my family.

Yes, Christmastime is my favorite time of year.

Merry Christmas everyone. And until 2011, you stay classy Planet Earth.

With love,

Travis Branam

a.k.a. The @musicapologist

Posted in: Life, Music