Casa Trip Epilogue: despicable me

Posted on January 21, 2011

1


Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.

-James 1:27

I have so much that I want to say (as usual). But for once, I think I’ll be brief.

If you haven’t already, meet Agnes.

Pretty adorable, right? And if THAT wasn’t cute enough, check out this little song she makes up about unicorns.

Hilarious. And precious. Sounds like something one of my sisters would have done when she was little. But here’s the thing: if not for the movie Despicable Me, Agnes is in an orphanage somewhere being her cute little self, and we don’t even know she exists.

This is such a convicting thing to me. Were it not for Casa, I’d never know that those wonderful kids were even alive. From Juan Peeblee to Oscar to Anahi, I’d never know their sweet natures, their senses of humor or their Smiling Neck Hugs. And my life would be the lesser for it.

As I make the transition from mission trip to mission-life and transform from a despicable me into one of Jesus’ eager and willing minions, it’s my prayer that I will remember that I don’t need to go to Mexico to find kids and families to serve, and that when I refrain from doing a good work I know I should do because I fear either social embarrassment or  dangerous drug lords at the border, it’s Satan who wins. And if I’m going to preach the verse at the top of this blog post, I better not focus on orphans exclusively and ignore the other 2/3 of the verse about caring for widows and keeping my mind from being polluted by the world. There is plenty of work to be done in Jesus’ name here in Denver too, and I want to be a bigger part of it. And if I don’t get about that business here in 2011, then my trip to Casa will have been worth no more than a few thousand words on this blog. I refuse to let that happen.

If these posts have meant anything to you this past week, I want to strongly encourage you to consider supporting the work at Casa de la Esperanza in some way. Visit http://www.ahouseofhope.com to get involved, donate, and to learn more about some of the kids.

 

 

 

Posted in: Casa Trip, Faith, Life